Azusa Street - Where pentecostal experience restarted!Today I am sick! My eyes are runny, my nose is runny and my throat hurts so bad! I really don’t want to be sick, but I only have myself to thank for it! I haven’t been eating correctly and my body always gets run down when I don’t eat right. I usually end up sick. I wish I didn’t like anything sugar so much!

Sunday night, we went to an evening service at Brighton Assembly of God. Chris, my hubby, wrote about our experience in his blog, but I have some thoughts of my own. I am not a big fan of church services. I know that sounds wrong coming from a minister, but sometimes I really wonder if we are meeting people’s needs through them. I try to get my kids to sit and listen, but at age 3 and 4, they only do so well and it is distracting to both me and the people around us. It is difficult to attend services with them. However, I really enjoyed Sunday evening’s service (even with the kids). We drove 2 hours to get there, but even that didn’t damper the evening’s greatness.

Rev. Thomas Trask spoke. He has been our General Superintendent for 14 years and will end his service in that capacity in the middle of October. I had never heard him preach in person before and I enjoyed the experience. To be honest, I wasn’t terribly impressed by his preaching. As I said, I enjoyed it and got something from it, but he wasn’t spectacular, in my opinion. Of course he was way better than I am (especially, since I’ve only preached about 25 times). He was a great GS, though.

Back to Sunday evening services; I now miss them! I grew up in the Assemblies of God and in the pentecostal experience. Our church rather lacks the pentecostal experience for unknown reasons. Chris and I strive to that bring back into existence in our church. I miss the pentecostal experience entirely. We only get that when we go to District events or visit another church like we did on Sunday. And when we do get to partake in it, it makes me miss it all the more!

    Lord,Thank you for a great service on Sunday night. Thank you for reminding me what potential our church has. Help me to see that potential every day and every time I think about the church or the people in our church. Help me to see the potential that every person in our community has. Thank you again for reopening my eyes. In Jesus’ Name. Amen!
