Bloggers Unite - Blog Action Day Today is Blog Action Day! So, I am writing a post about the environment. I don’t usually have too much to say about the environment, but about 2 weeks ago when I took my trek through some local woods, I was disgusted by their state! I wish I’d had my camera with me. There were piles of rusted metal, bottles, a tire and various other trash. The woods were beautiful other than that. I was enjoying God’s beauty that day and didn’t let the trash spoil that, but it wasn’t pretty. Afterwards, as I reflected on my trek, I felt sad that people would treat God’s wonderful creation like that. There are so few places in the world to see God’s creation untouched. I doubt that I have ever even been close to an untouched part of the world. By untouched, I mean not trashed or cut down or otherwise molested.

Garden of Eden
The view from the inner end of Deer Cave, National Mulu Park, Borneo.
Originally uploaded by RipperDoc

What do you think it was like for Adam and Eve when they were given the Garden of Eden. I’ve always wished that I could time travel backwards and see it. I think that the most beautiful place I’ve ever been (I haven’t been that many places) is the Philippines. There was beautiful sand, water, a volcano; a tropical paradise! It must be nothing compared to what the Garden of Eden looked like! I imagine it had a wonderful wild beauty to it. A beauty that was as yet untamed in any way. Doesn’t it sound wonderful? It does to me.

Let’s stop throwing trash into the environment. There is a person here in town that likes to put out his tiny bit of trash with a huge sign that says something like, “Look! Only one bag of trash. You could have only one bag, too, if you would recycle.” He’s got a point. We could all cut down on the trash that goes into the environment. I had to stop buying styrofoam plates, even though it makes more dishes. What can you do to help? Just a little thing done by many people can have a big effect.

