Thursday, my hubby and I have our ordination exams. I am really, really nervous. At first I was nervous because I had no idea what to expect. I’ve learned a bit more in the last 24 hours and now I am nervous because I don’t feel ready. I was told that they ask questions from the exam. That’s only slightly bad. I’m not sure I remember all the verses that went with everything. But then I was told they will definitely ask the questions that you got wrong! Well, that’s just great! They didn’t tell us what we got wrong. I have some idea from what I didn’t know when taking the exam, but that doesn’t cover all my missed answers! I only got an 88%. I know maybe 5% of the questions I got wrong. So I am super nervous.

The other thing I have to be able to do is give evidence of my call. That doesn’t sound too hard, but I never had any “Aha!” moments. My call was gradual. At first I knew that I would be a pastor’s wife. When I got out of college I felt led to become licensed without any thought of ever being ordained. I received a specialized ministry license. I was sure I was never going to preach. I knew I was avoiding it and eventually I was ready to listen to God and switch to license to preach. At that point, I figured I may as well go all the way and get ordained. I feel called, but that’s not really too much evidence. I suppose that since it is the truth and I can talk about it passionately, I should be fine, but I’m still nervous.

I am still seeking more information if anyone has an idea of what goes on in an Assemblies of God ordination interview. I would love to have a better idea. Is there just one interview or several? You would think that since my grandfather, father, father-in-law were pastors and I grew up in the AG, I should have a better idea. I don’t!

Please pray for me. I need it. I need it now as I study and Thursday as I get interviewed. Thanks!

