Thank you all for your prayers today. We needed them and appreciated them. The interview went really well. They had an issue with a post I wrote about tithe a while back, with good reason. I really had no idea I had left out so many details when I wrote it. I can’t say enough how embarrassed I am now that I realize how it came out of my head. It really didn’t look like that inside my head.

They asked pretty much what everyone said they would, like why do you want to be ordained and what does ordination mean to you? But, most of the time was spent talking about my blog posts and the logistics of blog writing when you are a pastor.

I really appreciate the three men that interviewed us. I appreciate the loving tone that they used when talking about this post. I appreciate that they saw that I was terribly embarrassed when I realized how bad the post was. Most of all, I appreciate that they want the best for each pastor in the district; it was obvious from the conversation and the prayers. I now covet their prayers and friendship.

It really was a great experience. I felt like I could have stayed and talked to them all day. We had already gone half an hour over when we left, though. While I was talking to them, I only felt loved.

The interview really made me realize a lot things.

  1. I am still learning. I have a lot to learn!
  2. I’m still growing. I hope, though that I can always say that!
  3. I need to be more careful of what I say because there are a lot of people watching me, even if I don’t sense it most of the time and never feel worthy of it!
  4. I need to continue to cultivate relationships with ministers that I can learn from.
  5. No matter how smart I think I am, I will never know everything! Just for clarification, I didn’t think I knew everything going into this, but I did think I knew more than I did, I guess. That’s hard to explain.

The biggest thing about today is that I felt really awful after the interview, but not because the interviewers made me feel that way. I felt that way because I saw how little I know and how much I can grow. I felt sad because I made others feel sad through my poor writing. But I also feel happy because through this experience, I have learned so much! Now I just have to work to put that knowledge to good use!

Oh! And I almost forgot to tell the outcome! Right now I’ll just say that it looks really good! There is still at least one more board that has to review everything.

