I was really exhausted yesterday, so I didn’t get to the Friday 5, but I still want to do it because it is so appropriate this week, so here we go. Mother Laura writes:

Songbird just had an interview for a “vague and interesting” possibility, and More Cows than People is doing campus visits for doctoral programs. There always seem to be a few RevGals applying for new positions, and I just got my first call for this year’s preliminary interviews for college teaching jobs at the American Academy of Religion meeting in San Diego coming up in a few weeks. It’s for my dream job among this year’s offerings, and I am flipflopping between excitement and nervousness. So please keep your fingers crossed and say a little prayer for everyone facing such conversations, and share your thoughts on the wonderful world of interviews:

1. What was the most memorable interview you ever had?

Well, I guess I have to say the one I just had on Thursday. It was so not what I expected it would be! It was way more pleasant than I thought it would be, even though they were pointing out how unclear my post was.

2. Have you ever been the interviewer rather than the interviewee? If so, are you a tiger, a creampuff, or somewhere in between?

I interviewed a few people as a shift manager for a pizza place I worked at. I didn’t do it more than three times, so I wouldn’t say I really know anything and I was only 17 and then barely 18 at the time.

3. Do phone interviews make you more or less nervous than in-person ones?

I’ve not ever had a phone interview. My hubby and I once talked to a presbyter on the phone. It was kind of an interview but not really. We were going to visit my mom and wanted to make some money to help us pay for the trip, so we were looking for a church to preach at. He said that not only could we preach there, but if we liked this church, we could be the pastors! We were shocked since he hadn’t even met us. The church had been open for a year and I think he really wanted it filled. Also, he had known my dad. Anyways, that’s were we have been for four years. So, in our case the phone interview was a lot easier, but I don’t think it really counts.

4. What was the best advice you ever got to prepare for an interview? How about the worst?

Be yourself! Pray! “Girlfriend, eat a Snickers & drink a Starbucks on the way in. You’ll be fine – jittery, but fine.” – That was the best funny-wise! I don’t know that I have gotten bad advice. I don’t remember any at least.

5. Do you have any pre-interview rituals that give you confidence?

Just a lot of prayer for God’s will. I always want to be in God’s will, so if I don’t get the job, then I know it’s what is best for me. And that makes it easier to bear!

