Well, I finally have a picture of the present my hubby made me for Christmas. I said I would write about it in a previous post, but I haven’t gotten around to it until now. Well, he made me a charm bracelet that is so much more than a charm bracelet. I wrote a while back about my idea for a charm bracelet to help my keep myself straight as to what I’m doing. I’ve got so many hats that I get all confused. So, for Christmas, my hubby made my charm bracelet for me. The picture shows what each charm is for. Each charm is a different aspect of my life. Right now I am being just me by blogging, so I’m the lady with the crazy flowing hair (like in my blog banner at the top of this page). As you may have noticed, the wife charm is a little risqué, but I suppose that’s because the hubby picked it out. 🙂

rosary-bracelet-r.jpg

He had the ingenious idea to make it with a rosary so that I can use it to pray, too. I can use to pray that God will help me to be better at all of these rolls! Of course, I don’t pray Hail Marys. Chris suggested that I pray breath prayers*. Adele Ahlberg Calhoun wrote about breath prayers on pages 204-206 of her book, Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices that Transform Us. It was one of the books Chris had to read for a masters class.

To pray a breath prayer you pick a name for God like Abba and then you say a one line desire of your heart. So, I would say “Abba” (as I breathe in) and pray, “Help me to be a good a mother as you are a Father to me” (as I exhale). I haven’t actually done this yet. Chris suggested I pick a different name of God for each charm and I am just starting to look into it and decide.

The rosary had to be modified to fit my wrist as a bracelet, so there is one less bead for each decade (the ten beads between each of the charms. That just means that I have to count the first bead that hangs down with the charm as both 10 of the decade before it and 1 of the decade after it. I hope that explanation is clearer than it seems to me. On the beads that are right above each of the charms, I pray the Lord’s Prayer. The second picture shows how the bracelet looks when it is off.

After I decide on my breath prayers I may share those with you, too. But, you must admit that he did a pretty good job with my present, huh? Way to go hubby!

bracelet-open-r.jpg

*Disclaimer: This is by no means how you should always pray. This is a prayer that helps you to continually pray throughout the day when you cannot stop what you are doing. You can still pray while doing other things.

