This week has stretched me more than I thought possible. However, I’ve heard that those who bend do not break. I am happy that I did not break! In the past year I have made many strides, in many ways in my life. However, there are still so many ways that I can improve. God is leading me to the life of peace and happiness that he desires for me and I am grateful for His leading. It may not be easy, but it is very rewarding.
In our conversations about time management this week, I was awed by the peace and organization that R___ has found in her life. Like me, she attributes her success to God’s guidance and provision of “dedicated people” to teach her how to manage her time.

R___ had a lot of good advice and I appreciate her sharing it with us all. In just her initial post thread she gave her tactics and advice on the following topics:

Interruptions and Difficulties: She says, “A wise teacher said to me, ‘Always expect difficulties. Then, when they come they won’t be so much of a problem because they’re expected.’” Her comments on how she responds to people who need her, made me realize that I’ve wished to have those kind of task and people skills for years!

Delegation: “Delegation is an art- it can’t be dumped on a person.”

Planning Monthly, Weekly and Daily: She gave her tactics for each time frame and even included a sample of her lists.

R___ really does seem to be in the fourth generation. She seems to also be utilizing Covey’s 8th Habit with the way that she delegates to the girls she works with, giving them opportunities to shine, grow and find their own strategies for life.

I really liked this piece of advice that she gave: “It’s unrealistic to expect things to run perfectly. We are human, we work with humans and we all make mistakes.” I make a lot of mistakes and fall short in many of my duties, but I am reminded of two songs that speak to this.

Get Up by Superchic[k]

i’m not afriad to fall
it means I’ve climbed up high
to fall is not to fail
you fail when you don’t try


Get Back Up by TobyMac

We lose our way, we get back up again
It’s never too late to get back up again
And one day you gonna’ shine again
You may be knocked down, but not out forever

——–

Stanger, J.  (2006). The 8th Habit: From Effectiveness to Greatness [review of the book The 8th Habit: From Effectiveness to Greatness]. Training Journal,67.  Retrieved February 16, 2011, from ABI/INFORM Global. (Document ID: 1144112061).

Superchic[k]. (Group). (2007). Get Up. On Double Take [MP3 file]. Franklin, TN: InPop Records.

TobyMac. (Producer). (2010). Get Back Up. On Tonight [MP3 file]. Brentwood, TN: ForeFront Records.

