In light of Bill McKibben’s book The age of missing information, taking time away from my iPod and putting it into time spent outdoors with God’s great creation, would do me a lot of good. Like television, my iPod presents me with a “relentless flood of information…[that] does not necessarily equal an understanding of our situation” (KcKibben, 2006, p. 162). It is harder for me to understand situation around me in real life if I am too involved in the virtual world.

I noticed this week, in regards to my iPod use, that as I got sicker (with a cold), I cared less about using my iPod. I was tired of it being in my face.

Some of the apps that I feel contribute good to my life are the calendar, calculator, and Bible apps. It’s nice not having to carry any of these items in my purse separately, which I used to do.

The Bible app is very handy and I use it frequently. It also has many religious e-books, commentaries and other study tools. The downside to using my iPod as my Bible is that some people do not understand that I am really reading from the Bible. How does this affect them? I do not know.

That would be interesting to find out.

McKibben, Bill. (2006). The age of missing information. New York, NY: Random House

