This week I have been frustrated with my messy house. I find it difficult to juggle my many responsibilities. My home most often gets ignored because it is not a “paid” position.

This week I have been reminded of other ways that having a clean, healthy, and safe home is a “paid” position. Strom writes of the influence that environment has on mood relating a study done. The study showed that subjects viewed pictures of people as generally more attractive if they were seated in a beautiful room. The study also found that an “ugly room created a sense of monotony, fatigue, headache, discontent, sleepiness, irritability, and hostility” (2009, p. 80).

My husband and I have sleep apnea, but seem more tired than we should be since we are receiving treatment. Is our messy, cluttered home our problem? It does seem likely.

Another conversation that I had with my daughter’s teacher, brought this issue up. Mrs. Burrows said that Ella’s main issue in school is social skills and that having friends over would be the best solution to this problem. At this very moment, there is no way that I would allow Ella’s friends in my house.

Strom writes “how we keep our homes and build our churches may not only reflect our values, but nurture them as well” (2009, p. 80). “Cleanliness and aesthetics nurture a positive spirit” (2009, p. 81).

My housekeeping skills are important for many reasons including health, mental happiness, the ability to be hospitable at a moment’s notice, the social health of my children, and the ability to be alert and awake during the day. The messages that I send my children by giving them a clean home are invaluable.

My home needs some serious de-cluttering and cleaning. Chris and I have decided to take advantage of the kids’ spring break to do some spring cleaning with them!

—–
Strom, B. (2009). More than talk: Communication studies and the Christian faith. Dubuque, IA: Kendall/Hunt Publishing Company.

