This Fall my family has been energetically watching Top Chef on the Bravo channel. My teenage daughter watches with the dream of some day being a chef. My husband watches because he loves reality shows and I mean, really loves them. Plus the whole competition thing really works for him. Me, I love cooking and good food. Every so often I get an idea from this group of talented young chefs who are competing for big money and honors galore.

The winner for this season was Hung. Not the fan favorite, but he won fair and square. In his bio, he says if he were a food “I would be spicy chili – it takes a while to get used to, but once you eat it you always come back for more!” With that in mind, here is this week’s Friday Five.

Photo by st0rmz on Flickr1. If you were a food, what would you be?
If I were a food, I think I would be a lemon. Definitely sour at times, but mixed with a little sugar, delicious. Also, I can be a little fruity at times!

2. What is one of the most memorable meals you ever had? And where?
My husband and I honeymooned at The Grand Hotel on Mackinaw Island. They have great dinners. They have 5 courses (their breakfasts have more like ten). It’s amazing. Plus, you have to be in formal wear after 6 p.m. It was a lot of fun!

3. What is your favorite comfort food from childhood?
My favorite comfort food would be my dad’s cheese manicotti. It was so delicious, but he died about 6 & 1/2 years ago and no one makes it the same. 😦 So, my favorite that I can still get is probably tuna noodle casserole. I know that is probably strange.Photo by cxn926 on Flickr

4. When going to a church potluck, what one recipe from your kitchen is sure to be a hit?
My hubby’s family always took baked hashbrowns because everyone asked for them. We do the same now. My mother-in-law also makes an apple, cool-whip, pudding, Snicker salad that I sometimes take, too. It’s always a big hit, too.

Photo by tami_chan5. What’s the strangest thing you ever willingly ate?
I’m a rather picky eater and I try to avoid all gross and strange things. I can’t really think of anything. Like I said, I avoid it at all costs. My hubby has eaten a cow tongue taco! Eww!

Update: SpiritMists‘ post reminded me of the Bloody Stump Cake I once ate. My sister-in-law and her brothers came up with and named the recipe. It sounds and even kinda looks gross. I think it’s pretty much just chocolate cake mix (maybe with red food coloring added) with cherry pie filling on top. I guess that’s what you get when you have three brothers. It was really was yummy, though!

Bonus question: What’s your favorite drink to order when looking forward to a great meal?
I don’t drink alcoholic beverages. My favorite drink with anything Mexican or with popcorn is Lemonade. I am a self-professed lemonade connoisseur.

That was a great Friday 5. I hope you enjoyed it, too!

Photo Credits: Lemon Harvest, Cheese Manicotti, Gyuu Tan (that’s Cow Tongue)